December 11, 2017

Pennsylvania ACT 31 – Mandated Reporter Training

Act 31 of 2014 states that the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA), in conjunction with the Department of Human Services (DHS) is required to ensure that all persons applying for issuance of an initial license as a health-related licensee or funeral director (mandatory reporters under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) (23 P.S.§ 6311)) shall be required to complete 3 hours of DHS-approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure.

Act 31 applies to all health-related licensees (except for licensees of the State Board of Veterinary Medicine), regardless of whether they are subject to the continuing education requirements of the applicable Board. For example, although licensed practical nurses have no independent continuing education requirement at this time, they are required to complete the Act 31 continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements.

PSPS has been informed that the Department of Human Services, in conjunction with University of Pittsburgh and the Pennsylvania Child Welfare Resource Center has developed a 3-hour online training program which is offered free of charge to assist individuals in complying with the training requirements under Act 31. The link is as follows:

http://www.nursing.pitt.edu/continuing-education/enduringonline-activities/act-31-requirements

PSPS is asking that all licensed Pennsylvania perfusionists complete this training before12/31/2016 for completion of the license renewal process.